Freedom Ride 2015 - Start-Up Hyderabad
Loading Startup Hyderabad

Freedom Ride 2015

 8 years ago    

Celebrate this Independence Day with the “Freedom Ride Cycling”


Every year on Independence Day, the entire nation takes new oaths for a better India and a safe country. With lot of pollution happening these days and with the number of vehicles increasing, the youth is moving towards a healthier and greener environment. To reach this mission, people are suggesting and opting for cycling the way outs.

Celebrate India’s 68 years of Freedom by riding the Signature distance of 68 Kms – as an individual or as a team of 15! For families, including kids, enjoy the Freedom morning with the Joy Ride. For those who are ready for a unique challenge, try the CyKul Fitness Challenge (CFC) – a team contest to test your stamina, endurance, and active quotient.

The Freedom Ride is a novel cycling event to celebrate India’s Independence Day. The 2015 edition is the 7 th in this annual series and is a marquee cycling event of India. While the signature distance of the ride is 68 KM [For 68 years of freedom!] riders can choose to ride any distance between 5 KM to 68 KM along a fully supported route and be an active ambassador for the spirit of freedom, health and fitness, sustainable transportation, and most importantly, education for under-privileged.

The Freedom Ride is brought to you by TAF. The Charity Partner of this event is United Way of Hyderabad. The main objectives of this event are to support the causes of

  • Education of underprivileged students
  • Promoting eco-friendly commute options
  • Promote cycling as a health & wellness sport

In addition to TAF programs, the United Way of Hyderabad supports charitable programs in the areas of Education, Health, and Livelihood. Please note that TAF does not accept any donations; all donations are directly deposited to United Way of Hyderabad.

The start and finish points of this ride will be at the Hitech City. The specific route map will be sent to all registered riders via e-mail. Certain helpful links regarding the start point, the end point, cue sheet for the route etc. will also be made available through a variety of communication channels. Riders will also be supported by the route staff along the way during the actual ride hours.

A smart card will be issued to all registered riders with a unique identification number and pre-loaded services. This smart card gets you access to facilities such as rental cycle and helmet (for eligible categories), food and beverages on the event day, certificate, medals etc. This card will track the services you avail. Riders who misplace their smart card can receive a duplicate smart card for a fee.

For the convenience of the riders, the event consists of the following formats –

  • CyKul Fitness Challenge: a corporate challenge, where participants will compete for a fixed time duration of about 2 mins on stationary cyclesStarts at 6 AM
  • Signature Ride: Covering a distance of 68 KM by individual riders – Starts at 6 AM
  • Relay Ride: Covering a distance of 75 KM by a team(15 members) together – Starts at 6 AM
  • Joy Ride: Shorter distances of 2 to 5 KM for friends and family – Starts at 7:00 AM and goes on till 11 AM.

Riders who avail rental cycles can go for more than one round with a time limitation of 30 minutes max.

Timings to keep in mind –

The signature riders, CFC riders and corporate relay riders are required to be at the venue by 5:30 AM on the ride day (Saturday, 15-Aug-2015). The riders will start lining up at the start line soon after their arrival and the signature ride will be flagged off at 06.00 AM SHARP. Joy Riders will be flagged-off at 07.00 AM following flag hoisting and national anthem.

Each ride has a different fee that is charged. And if you want to be a part of this celebration, then you must not waste any time, and register yourself now by clicking here.

So, get your social groups gearing and commit yourself to this activity to (re)discover the joy of giving and joy of cycling, and of course to celebrate our Independence Day in a unique way.

To know how you can donate and support their cause, please write to Ms. Rekha Srinivasan on





  • Saptarshi Roy Chaudhury

  • Neeha Jayaram

  • Dhivya

  • Saloni Anand

  • Neha Mohsin

  • Soumalya Chakraborty

  • Ruchika Agarwal

  • Ramesh Loganathan

  • Nikita Kiran

  • Ayyappa Nagubandi

  • Ayushi Pandey

  • Harshita Goel

  • Chandra Mouli Koduri

  • Arpita Soma

  • Maddy Anand

  • Ankur Mehta

  • Varun Rastogi

  • Srinivas Aki

  • Monika Guwalani

  • Rahul Das

  • Saritha Keshamoni

  • Nischala Agnihotri

  • Sameeksha Bansal

  • Sreekar Reddy

  • Divya Jyothi

  • Vineel Reddy Pindi

  • Vinita Surana

  • Priyanka Mechineni

  • Sravya Gowrisetty

  • Sruthi Malla

  • Anish Tadimarri

  • Tata Teja

  • Amita Sood

  • Ramya Sayaboni

  • Vana Korrapati

  • Surya Vallae

  • Ambika Asta

  • Madhureema RoyMoulik

  • Gunajit Haloi

  • Bhavitaavya Dharanikota

  • GR Reddy

  • Manoj Surya

  • Shravani Maddirala

  • Ravi Vaka

  • Rituka M

  • Nethrikaa Greeshma

image title here

Some title