Loading Startup Hyderabad


 5 years ago    

Whether you are a  professional in the field of design or a mere enthusiast- Hyderabad has a unique challenge, tailor-made for you if you have what it takes to use your skills to make a positive change in society.

The World Design Organisation (WDO) was founded in 1957 from a group of international organizations focused on industrial design. Formerly known as International Council of Societies of Industrial Design (Icsid), today WDO is a worldwide society that promotes better design around the world and includes over 140 member organizations in more than 40 nations, representing estimated150,000 designers. The primary aim of the association is to advance the discipline of industrial design at an international level. To do this, WDO undertakes a number of initiatives of global appeal to support the effectiveness of industrial design in an attempt to address the needs and aspirations of people around the world, to improve the quality of life, as well as help to improve the economy of nations throughout the world. WDO holds United Nations Special Consultative Status which empowers them to make change, and works towards addressing the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals.

The City of Hyderabad (India) has been selected to host the next WDO World Design Assembly on 11-12 October 2019. The event will be preceded by a Research and Education Forum on 10 October. In the run for the same, the Telangana government has introduced a challenge to mobilise designers from far and wide.

Telangana government, in association with industry body CII, has conceived the design challenge with a view to devise solutions for five problems — design a unique water bottle to reduce plastic pollution; design a universally recognisable symbol/logo for persons agnostic of culture, academic and socio-economic backgrounds for (a) warnings for danger, keep out (b) toilets (c) chemist shop (d) medical facility (e) zebra crossing; design interventions to alter human behaviour and create a more civil society; help reduce weight of school bags; and a conserve and reuse water mechanism for households.

Who is eligible?

Undergraduate and Post Graduate students from any field. It is the first of several events planned leading to the World Design Assembly, a biennial event of World Design Organisation (WDO) that is coming to India for the first time, Industries and IT Secretary Jayesh Ranjan said at the launch in which WDO President-Elect Srini Srinivasan participated. 

31 August  is the last date for submission of online entries.

Incentives for Winners

The World Design Assembly, 31st in the series, will have ‘Humanising Design’ as its theme and be held on October 11-12.  Winners will be awarded during Hyderabad Design Week, a five-day city-wide event from October 9 organized by the government coinciding with the WDO’s Assembly in October. Installations, interventions, exhibitions, and workshops that demonstrate the power of design to improve lives will form part of the programs.

“In the context of WDO’s recently adopted World Design Agenda, the city of Hyderabad presented an outstanding proposal, with numerous opportunities to position design as a critical tool for addressing the United Nations’ Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), WDO President Luisa Bocchietto said, while the selection of the city of Hyderabad to host the Assembly- the 31st of its kind and the first in India.

What are you waiting for? Submit your entries now!




  • Saptarshi Roy Chaudhury

  • Neeha Jayaram

  • Dhivya

  • Saloni Anand

  • Neha Mohsin

  • Soumalya Chakraborty

  • Ruchika Agarwal

  • Ramesh Loganathan

  • Nikita Kiran

  • Ayyappa Nagubandi

  • Ayushi Pandey

  • Harshita Goel

  • Chandra Mouli Koduri

  • Arpita Soma

  • Maddy Anand

  • Ankur Mehta

  • Varun Rastogi

  • Srinivas Aki

  • Monika Guwalani

  • Rahul Das

  • Saritha Keshamoni

  • Nischala Agnihotri

  • Sameeksha Bansal

  • Sreekar Reddy

  • Divya Jyothi

  • Vineel Reddy Pindi

  • Vinita Surana

  • Priyanka Mechineni

  • Sravya Gowrisetty

  • Sruthi Malla

  • Anish Tadimarri

  • Tata Teja

  • Amita Sood

  • Ramya Sayaboni

  • Vana Korrapati

  • Surya Vallae

  • Ambika Asta

  • Madhureema RoyMoulik

  • Gunajit Haloi

  • Bhavitaavya Dharanikota

  • GR Reddy

  • Manoj Surya

  • Shravani Maddirala

  • Ravi Vaka

  • Rituka M

  • Nethrikaa Greeshma

image title here

Some title