Commut, a IIIT-H alumni start-up is selected for prestigious MAN Accelerator Program
Loading Startup Hyderabad

Commut, a IIIT-H alumni start-up is selected for prestigious MAN Accelerator Program

 1 year ago    


Within a week time of reaching its recent milestone to be listed as the first Indian College where APPLE decided to debut it’s campus placements, IIIT-H is again in news as one of its alumni start-ups Commut has been selected for the prestigious MAN Accelerator Program in collaboration with non-profit venture Yunus Social Business.

The 6-month MAN Truck & Bus Impact Accelerator brings together social entrepreneurs from Europe, South Africa and India that tackle social and environmental challenges through innovative solutions in the transport and logistics space. It will kick off at the Global Social Business Summit in Paris in November. This will be followed by sessions in Munich, Mumbai, Cape Town and San Francisco. Commut is of the 8 startups that have been selected from around the globe. (

“Commut has always focused on creating a sustainable transport system which can impact not just lives but also the environment. Being a part of an accelerator program led by Nobel Peace Prize Prof. Muhammad Yunus would surely help us learn a lot. We are looking forward to meeting social startups from around the world and taking valuable insights from them about making an impact”, says Prasanth Garapati, a co-founder of team Commut.

Founded in November 2015 by six alumni from IIIT-Hyderabad (Prasanth Garapati, Hemanth Jonnalagadda, Charan Thota, Sandeep Kachavarapu, Akshay Chennupati and Srujai Varikuti), Commut is a tech-enabled shuttle service for daily office commuters in Hyderabad. It operates minibuses at high frequency and affordable prices between various major destinations within the city. It currently runs 70+ shuttles across 50+ routes in Hyderabad. By Nov 2017, it has served 5,00,000+ rides with 30,000+ registered users.

As of date, Commut has raised two rounds of funding – the first from 50K ventures (within 5 months of its inception) and later from Shell Foundation (in Feb 2017). The startup has also received accolades and awards from various organizations, some of which include an award as one of the ‘Top 10 startups of 2016’ received from Mr. KTR Minister for IT, Telangana and ‘Best Impact startup’ award received from Bonthu Rammohan, Mayor, Hyderabad.

Commut which has completed 5,00,000 rides recently is planning to scale its operations and capture the market of Hyderabad firmly before entering a new city. As one of their impact initiatives, they have recently collaborated with Green Mile and are running electric vehicles between the airport and rest of the city.

Congratulations to Commut Team on behalf of Start-Up Hyderabad !!


More information on commut:

MAN Accelerator Program:

Check out our previous articles on commut for more info : commut raised funding





Sruthi Malla

Editor in chief @ Startup Hyderabad.I am not the same person everyday!! In the quest of discovering new roles and new heights. Start Up enthusiast and love to roam and explore the best places of the world :-)


  • Saritha Keshamoni

    Saritha Keshamoni

  • Ramya Sayaboni

    Ramya Sayaboni

  • Sruthi Malla

    Sruthi Malla

  • Ruchika Agarwal

    Ruchika Agarwal

  • Neeha Jayaram

    Neeha Jayaram

  • Sameeksha Bansal

  • Rahul Das

    Rahul Das

  • Srinivas Aki

    Srinivas Aki

  • Saloni Anand

    Saloni Anand

  • Dhivya


  • Soumalya Chakraborty

    Soumalya Chakraborty

  • Sravya Gowrisetty

    Sravya Gowrisetty

  • Monika Guwalani

    Monika Guwalani

  • Ramesh Loganathan

    Ramesh Loganathan

  • Nischala Agnihotri

    Nischala Agnihotri

  • Nikita Kiran

    Nikita Kiran

  • Harshita Goel

    Harshita Goel

  • Ankur Mehta

    Ankur Mehta

  • Neha Mohsin

    Neha Mohsin

  • Maddy Anand

    Maddy Anand

  • Ayyappa Nagubandi

    Ayyappa Nagubandi

  • Chandra Mouli Koduri

    Chandra Mouli Koduri

  • Divya Jyothi

    Divya Jyothi

  • Saptarshi Roy Chaudhury

    Saptarshi Roy Chaudhury

  • Ayushi Pandey

    Ayushi Pandey

  • Amita Sood

    Amita Sood

  • Surya Vallae

  • Vana Korrapati

    Vana Korrapati

  • Ambika Asta

    Ambika Asta

  • Priyanka Mechineni

    Priyanka Mechineni

  • Anish Tadimarri

  • Vinita Surana

    Vinita Surana

image title here

Some title