Flatpebble raises $600,000 from IAN


flatpebble.com, a Hyderabad based startup (TechClove Technologies Pvt. Ltd) has raised $600,000 from Indian Angel Network (IAN). Founded by Venkatesan Seshadri and Pranav Mehta, the company runs an online marketplace that helps people hire high-quality photographers, videographers and stylists. Sanjay Jesrani and Subram Kapoor have led this round on behalf of IAN and will eventually join the board of the company.

The IAN investors said, “The local services space is a $ 50 billion opportunity and an extremely difficult problem to solve. The Flatpebble team has crafted a scalable solution to this problem, which is resonating with customers and service providers.  At IAN, we look forward to backing ventures with a disruptive approach to daily problems. We are confident that Flatpebble will rapidly achieve a leadership position in the target markets both in India and globally.”

Mr Venkatesan Seshadri said, “At Flatpebble, we take an in-depth approach to services. For every category, we go the extra mile to understand customer needs as well as the service provider’s business requirements. Our solution is focused on helping service providers succeed, while ensuring choice and price transparency for consumers.”

This is the third time the start-up has raised funds. It raised an undisclosed amount in December 2012 from Mircrosoft Ventures and $1,60,000 of angel funding in 2013, making a total of at least $7,60,000. The recently raised funds will be used to bring in innovation in the products, to increase the supply depth and introduce new categories in its business.

Flatpebble.com claims to have over 2,500 photographers and other service professionals. It has over 500 + portfolios across 80+ Indian cities and 5+ countries.