Skyroot Aerospace - India's first privately built rocket launch delayed - now successfully launched! - Start-Up Hyderabad
Loading Startup Hyderabad

Skyroot Aerospace – India’s first privately built rocket launch delayed – now successfully launched!

 6 months ago    

Hyderabad-based startup Skyroot Aerospace announced on 13th Nov that the launch of Vikram – S which was supposed to set off today, the 15th, has been postponed. Citing bad weather conditions, the launch will now happen on 18th November 2022.

Want To Know About The Inception Of Skyroot Aerospace? Click Here

India’s first privately developed and built rocket, Vikram – S will launch a sub-orbital mission with 3 payloads. This mission will be the beginning of their journey into space exploration and is known as ‘Prarambh’. The rocket will be carrying a total of 3 payloads, 2 from India and 1 from foreign customers. The mission is going to launch from the ISRO launchpad at Sriharikota.

Skyroot Aerospace

Spacekidz, a Chennai-based aerospace startup, will fly ‘Fun-Sat’, a 2.5 kg payload developed by students from India, the US, Singapore, and Indonesia on the sub-orbital flight onboard Vikram-S.

Curious To Know More About Skyroot’s Vikram? Continue Reading Here.

Skyroot is the first startup to sign a memorandum of understanding with ISRO for the launch of rockets. In September 2022, Skyroot successfully raised USD 51 million through a Series-B financing round. Moreover, in the previous year in July, it had raised USD 11 million in the Series-A round.

Upon the successful launch of Vikram – S, Skyroot will become the first Indian privately held space company to do so. The space industry opened up for private players in 2020 by the Government. This move allows the private space sector to partake and develop space technology, and also make our space dream possible.

However, the central aim of allowing private companies into the space sector is to create a conducive environment for cost-effective satellite launch services. Apart from this, the government intends to eliminate any entry barriers and help these companies advance their missions. Additionally, making the space dream possible will allow making spaceflights affordable, reliable, and regular for all.

Speaking on the launch, COO and Co-founder Naga Bharath Daka says; “Vikram-S rocket is a single-stage sub-orbital launch vehicle which will carry three customer payloads. This will help test and validate the majority of the technologies in the Vikram series of space launch vehicles. We are utilizing the world-class launch infrastructure at ISRO’s spaceport in Sriharikota for the launch.” CEO Pawan Kumar Chandana will be the mission director, while Daka will be the co-mission director.



Rituka M

I am an avid reader and have a passion for writing. Being a law student coming from a commerce background, I have a flair for learning about the dynamic legal and business fraternity, as well as becoming an entrepreneur myself. Innovation, creativity, and hard work are the sole drivers to growth and is my mantra for life.


  • Saritha Keshamoni

    Saritha Keshamoni

  • Rituka M

    Rituka M

  • Ramya Sayaboni

    Ramya Sayaboni

  • Bhavitaavya Dharanikota

    Bhavitaavya Dharanikota

  • Sruthi Malla

    Sruthi Malla

  • Tata Teja

    Tata Teja

  • Nethrikaa Greeshma

    Nethrikaa Greeshma

  • Ruchika Agarwal

    Ruchika Agarwal

  • Neeha Jayaram

    Neeha Jayaram

  • Avatar

    Sameeksha Bansal

  • Rahul Das

    Rahul Das

  • Shravani Maddirala

    Shravani Maddirala

  • Saloni Anand

    Saloni Anand

  • Avatar

    Madhureema RoyMoulik

  • Srinivas Aki

    Srinivas Aki

  • Dhivya


  • Sravya Gowrisetty

    Sravya Gowrisetty

  • Soumalya Chakraborty

    Soumalya Chakraborty

  • Monika Guwalani

    Monika Guwalani

  • Ramesh Loganathan

    Ramesh Loganathan

  • Nischala Agnihotri

    Nischala Agnihotri

  • Varun Rastogi

    Varun Rastogi

  • Harshita Goel

    Harshita Goel

  • Nikita Kiran

    Nikita Kiran

  • Avatar

    Ankur Mehta

  • Neha Mohsin

    Neha Mohsin

  • Maddy Anand

    Maddy Anand

  • Chandra Mouli Koduri

    Chandra Mouli Koduri

  • Ayyappa Nagubandi

    Ayyappa Nagubandi

  • Divya Jyothi

    Divya Jyothi

  • Ayushi Pandey

    Ayushi Pandey

  • Saptarshi Roy Chaudhury

    Saptarshi Roy Chaudhury

  • Amita Sood

    Amita Sood

  • Avatar

    Surya Vallae

  • Gunajit Haloi

    Gunajit Haloi

  • Avatar

    Manoj Surya

  • Ravi Vaka

    Ravi Vaka

  • Sreekar Reddy

    Sreekar Reddy

  • Priyanka Mechineni

    Priyanka Mechineni

  • Ambika Asta

    Ambika Asta

  • Avatar

    Anish Tadimarri

  • Vana Korrapati

    Vana Korrapati

  • Avatar

    Vineel Reddy Pindi

  • GR Reddy

    GR Reddy

  • Vinita Surana

    Vinita Surana

image title here

Some title