Telangana State Smart City Hackathon 2018 by Hackmania - Start-Up Hyderabad
Loading Startup Hyderabad

Telangana State Smart City Hackathon 2018 by Hackmania

 1 year ago    

The Hackathon series is going to be hosted in 30 different colleges spread across 6 different cities, which also includes upcoming Smart Cities of Telangana i.e., Hyderabad, Ranga Reddy, Medchal, Warangal, Karimnagar, and Khammam.

The Telangana Smart City Hackathon 2018 is an exclusive Hackathon series for the engineering students of Telangana State, which aims to provide the opportunity to learn, connect with industry leaders during the process of developing the prototypes in Hackathon, for the problem statements identified by the Government Departments of Telangana.

Telangana Smart City Hackathon is an assembly of outstanding, experienced creators and entrepreneurs. They would be guiding and mentoring the participants throughout the process of generating new technology solutions for the problem statements. The selected participants(winners) will also receive continuous support from the Government, Hackmania and Industry Mentors in terms of skill grooming.

Mr. Jayesh Ranjan, IAS (Principal Secretary, Govt. of TS) on Telangana Smart City Hackathon 2018


What is Hackmania

Hackmania collaborates with various organisations to solve foreseen IT problems with the help of Technology and Rapid Prototyping. Hackmania organises hackathons using hackathon hosting platform i.e., Hackerbay.

Hackmania being a host of active developer community, network of experts, mentors & innovators. Govt. of Telangana has collaborated with Hackmania to conduct Telangana Smart City 2018 in association with TASK.

The platform partner Hackerbay will be used to conduct the series and Askmentor will be the official mentoring partner for the hackathon series.

The official launch of the Telangana State Smart City Hackathon 2018 by the Mr. G T Vernkateswar Rao, I.R.S, Commissioner, ESD — Government of Telangana. — (middle) with Rajat Shahi (Co-Founder & CEO — Hackmania), Prashanth Vishwanatha (Co-Founder & CTO — Hackmania), Suchith Reddy (Head University Relations — Hackmania), Motiur Rahman (Sr. Consultant, SeMT), Dr. Sailaja (OSD, TASK), Srinivas Pendyala (Jt. Secy. — ITE&C, Govt. of Telangana).

Purpose of the Hackathon

  • Technological learning aligned to industry expectation.
  • Overcome university’s limited exposure to coding practices.
  • Awareness of the technology advancements in the industry
  • Academic exposure vs. practical exposure

Structure of the Event

  • 2 online challenges in each college
  • 1 offline hackathon in each college
  • Mentoring Session with Government Officials
  • Mentoring Session with Corporates & Start-ups
  • Finale with top 2 teams from each college
  • Continuous support from the Government of Telangana and Hackmania

Expected Outcome

  • 3 rounds of continuous skilling of 6000 students from 30 different colleges from 6 different cities of Telangana State with support from Government, Industry Mentors and Hackmania.
  • Finale would be a combination of top two teams from each college who will work on the smart city problem statements identified by the various government departments of Telangana so that the solutions can be deployed the departments as the best practice.
  • Prototype Solutions to 14 different Problem Statements shared by Govt. departments of Telangana State.
  • The Government of Telangana says it will continue to organize such more events to groom the students of Telangana.
  • Comments


    Sruthi Malla

    Editor in chief @ Startup Hyderabad.I am not the same person everyday!! In the quest of discovering new roles and new heights. Start Up enthusiast and love to roam and explore the best places of the world :-)


    • Saritha Keshamoni

      Saritha Keshamoni

    • Ramya Sayaboni

      Ramya Sayaboni

    • Sruthi Malla

      Sruthi Malla

    • Ruchika Agarwal

      Ruchika Agarwal

    • Neeha Jayaram

      Neeha Jayaram

    • Sameeksha Bansal

    • Rahul Das

      Rahul Das

    • Srinivas Aki

      Srinivas Aki

    • Saloni Anand

      Saloni Anand

    • Dhivya


    • Bhavitaavya Dharanikota

      Bhavitaavya Dharanikota

    • Sravya Gowrisetty

      Sravya Gowrisetty

    • Soumalya Chakraborty

      Soumalya Chakraborty

    • Monika Guwalani

      Monika Guwalani

    • Ramesh Loganathan

      Ramesh Loganathan

    • Nischala Agnihotri

      Nischala Agnihotri

    • Varun Rastogi

      Varun Rastogi

    • Nikita Kiran

      Nikita Kiran

    • Harshita Goel

      Harshita Goel

    • Neha Mohsin

      Neha Mohsin

    • Ankur Mehta

      Ankur Mehta

    • Maddy Anand

      Maddy Anand

    • Madhureema RoyMoulik

    • Ayyappa Nagubandi

      Ayyappa Nagubandi

    • Chandra Mouli Koduri

      Chandra Mouli Koduri

    • Divya Jyothi

      Divya Jyothi

    • Saptarshi Roy Chaudhury

      Saptarshi Roy Chaudhury

    • Ayushi Pandey

      Ayushi Pandey

    • Amita Sood

      Amita Sood

    • Surya Vallae

    • Gunajit Haloi

      Gunajit Haloi

    • Ambika Asta

      Ambika Asta

    • Sreekar Reddy

      Sreekar Reddy

    • Vana Korrapati

      Vana Korrapati

    • Priyanka Mechineni

      Priyanka Mechineni

    • Anish Tadimarri

    • Vineel Reddy Pindi

    • Vinita Surana

      Vinita Surana

    image title here

    Some title